Happiness Exercise

My sister once told me the secret to being happy.  She said, if you ever lose your way, go back to these three basic steps.

1) Learn something new every day.

2) Accomplish one task, no matter how small.

3) Do something for someone else, preferably without them knowing it was you.

It sounds pretty simple, and it is. Please try it and let me know what you think.

I’ve taken these basic rules and added a focusing exercise to keep you from spreading yourself too thin.  This comes from personal experience as I have definitely become a jack of many trades.  Focusing is something that I know I need to work on.  To do this I have looked at the secrets of the successful. These are people who are very focused on their goals.  Here is a way that you can focus on your own happiness.

Step 1:

Get a whiteboard or sheet of paper or lots of index cards. Write down everything that makes you happy. Everything you can think of.  This is brainstorming. Don’t judge or criticize your choices, just write them all down.

Step 2:

Prioritize this list.  Yeah, I know, this is hard.  Don’t rush, take your time.  This is an important step.

Step 3:

Look at the top four.  These are the things you need to focus on.  These are the things that bring the most happiness into your life.

Step 4:

Look at the numbers five and below.  These are activities that you will be doing less  often or eliminating in your life. Wow. That sounds harsh doesn’t it?  But really, why would you be doing something that isn’t giving you more happiness.  For example, David Beckham doesn’t play golf because that’s four hours he could spend with his family. (Part of his top four).

I hope you have some strong opinions on this, I would love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

